British Men’s Team Epee Championships 2018

British Men’s Team Epee Championships 2018

Five Leon Paul teams competed in this year’s Team Championships. Leon Paul regained the title of Natioanl Champions with a second win in three years. This year we welcomed multiple world cup winner, Bas Verwijlen, into the first team. It’s safe to say everyone learned something by watching Bas fence, he demonstrated immense skill and expertise albeit remaining extremely modest at the same time.

The initial round of poules saw Leon Paul 1 and 2 win all of their matches. Leon Paul 3 won one match and Leon Paul 4 and 5 narrowly missed out on securing a win. Our youngest team, Leon Paul 3 consisting of Mattieu Pallud, Refe Tant, Owen Edwards and Ed Scott-Payne, took Haverstock A to 40-40 before being pipped to the post with a close final score of 45-41. Well done for a slick performance guys, we are sure you will steal the win next year!

Leon Paul Epee 1 unluckily met Leon Paul Epee 3 and knocked them out in the first round of DE’s before comfortably beating Redhill & Reigate Epee Club 45-37 in the semi-finals. Following an upset where Brixton B knocked out Brixton A in the round of 8, Leon Paul Epee 1 faced Brixton B in the final. They took the lead early on and despite the score being neck and neck at points, with a excellent performance from Brixton’s Will East, the final score was 45-33 in favour of Leon Paul Epee 1.

Final positions

1st Leon Paul Epee 1 (Matt Henderson, Owen Jordan, Dom Paul and Bas Verwijlen)
6th Leon Paul Epee 2 (Sam Boyle, Elliot Grover, Satya Gunput and Dan McGlade)
8th Leon Paul Epee 3 (Owen Edwards, Matthieu Pallud, Edward Scott-Payne and Refe Tant)
12th Leon Paul Epee 4 (Kola Ayanwale, Sammy Chan, Lewis Tabone and Boris Wong)
14th Leon Paul Epee 5 (Roberto Balbontin, Pete Eames, Harris Makatsoris and Andriy Malosnyak)

Well done everyone who fenced and to Keni and Bence. The club success is only made possible with their continued hard work.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *